CompSci with Intelligent Systems - bad choice?

Watch
emanueladiana
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I have an unconditional offer for this course, but I've noticed there are few others (if any) with this one around. Somebody at King's now told me it's a less popular choice than CompSci and the course is no good.

Anybody know anything? I'm thinking of changing to CompSci, if they'll let me, but I wouldn't want to base my choice on one opinion.
DrAndrewColes
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
It's a good course, though I'm an Artificial Intelligence researcher so am of course biased.

It does have smaller numbers than straightforward computer science, but that's true generally when comparing AI to CS degrees. The first year of the two programmes is the same, so you can freely change at any point up to the end of the first year, between one and the other - you don't have to make a firm decision now.
emanueladiana
Rep:
?
(Original post by DrAndrewColes)
It's a good course, though I'm an Artificial Intelligence researcher so am of course biased.

It does have smaller numbers than straightforward computer science, but that's true generally when comparing AI to CS degrees. The first year of the two programmes is the same, so you can freely change at any point up to the end of the first year, between one and the other - you don't have to make a firm decision now.
Well that's great news, thanks! I'm gonna go for the 4 years CompSci course though. If they offered something in the area of AI at the MSci level I'd have taken it.
DrAndrewColes
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by emanueladiana)
Well that's great news, thanks! I'm gonna go for the 4 years CompSci course though. If they offered something in the area of AI at the MSci level I'd have taken it.