Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I posted this in the 'York' forum but I'll post it here as well to get a few more opinions.

Do you think its best to do a gap year before uni, after uni, or go travelling during holidays?

I'm thinking of defering my entry for a year, but I'm not sure if I could be bothered to come back and do a degree after it. Although at the same time if I leave it until after uni I'll have so much debt it wouldn't be worthwhile going until I had a job.

ReputationRep:
    Both

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Fluffy)
    Both
    slight cash problem there!

ReputationRep:
    Before uni I hadn't lived away from home before so I wouldn't have had the confidence to travel off alone. I didn't have any like-minded souls to go with. During uni i worked for a US summer camp which gave me confidence. After I graduated I just deferred loans for a while and went to Australia. That worked for me, but if you are confident you can do it now, go for it.

ReputationRep:
    It's cool when taking a gap year before you go to uni. The bad thing is that you might forget things and loose interest in going to uni maybe?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Fluffy)
    Both
    definetley before and after

ReputationRep:
    I want to take a GAP year before uni but I can't because of stupid top up fees! Instead, I'm going to travel a bit before and during the uni holidays. I might also take a GAP year after uni (if I have any money left that is!)

ReputationRep:
    There is one very simple solution.

Do first year, dont take your final exams, thereby having a very enjoyable run-in. Then take a year out, holding 3 [email protected] time, then re-do 1st year keeping all your notes from your first time round, cruising through and doing better than your first time anyway.

I know this sounds highly un-practical but it works!

S

ReputationRep:
    Appart from having to pay full tuition for the repeat year.

ReputationRep: