The Student Room Group

How hard the EILTS is ?

Hi everyone, I have to take the IELTS soon. I am used to studying with "The official Cambridge guide'book". I was wondering if the test is really like one in this book ! And how hard is it to get 7 for a non native speaker ?

I am looking forward to hear your experiences with it !!

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Justine Dhc
Hi everyone, I have to take the IELTS soon. I am used to studying with "The official Cambridge guide'book". I was wondering if the test is really like one in this book ! And how hard is it to get 7 for a non native speaker ?

I am looking forward to hear your experiences with it !!

Hello I did the IELTS yesterday and I found it a bit tough. I'm a British student as well! Some non-native speakers do well on it while some native speakers don't do well. It depends on the individual really. I don't know how to revise for English and considering I think I did badly in yesterday's IELTS I think I might have to retake it.
Reply 2
I got an 8 overall with 4 hours preparation. I'd say if your English is good, then the test is pretty easy overall. Speaking and writing are the areas you need to focus on, as these can be quite tricky when it comes to doing everything correctly (I did mess up on both so I speak from experience!).

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 3
Thanks for your replies, but I don't understand why you guys english native speakers need to take the Ielts ? Is it not a thing for foreign people wishing to study in an British university ?
It's not that difficult. I only studied like ~3 hours the night before and got an 8.5 as my overall score. Personally, I thought the easiest section was writing and the hardest was speaking.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 5
Original post by Justine Dhc