KeepYourChinUp
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I've been programming as a hobby for a few months and wanted to share my first proper game. It's just hangman so nothing fancy and I decided to go with lives instead of adding limbs to the hangman figure, keeps it simpler.

It's python 3.4 so it won't work if your python interpreter is 2.x I've included a list of words for your convience as well. Just make sure to type the location of the words.txt for example C:\Users\Jake\Desktop/words.txt

Code:
import string
import random

class Hangman:

#lives:     How many lives remaining.

#word:      Word to be guess.

#guesses:   True or false if the word is either guessed or not.

#HiddenWord: List of guessed letters and the hidden letters are marked with an underscore.

def __init__(self, word, lives):

self._lives = lives
        self._hiddenWord = ['_ ' for i in word]
        self._word = word
        self._guesses = False

def __str__(self):

if self._hiddenWordString() == self._word:
            return "Word: {0}".format(self._word)
        else:
            return "Word: {0}; You have {1} lives left".format(
                    self._hiddenWordString(), self._lives)

def livesRemaining(self):
        return self._lives

#Returns the string representation of list hiddenWord.
    def _hiddenWordString(self):
        return "".join([ch for ch in self._hiddenWord])

#Checks if the letter exists and updates the underscore to the letter.
    def updateGameStatus(self, char):
        if char in self._word:#Char is the letter typed in by the user.
            for i in range(len(self._word)):
                if self._word[i] == char:
                    self._hiddenWord[i] = char
        else:
            self._lives -= 1
        if self._word == self._hiddenWordString():
            self._guesses = True
        return self._word.count(char)

def guesses(self):
        return self._guesses

def removeLineEndings(string):