ExamPressure
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all,

I'm a first year medical student who has recently started studying anatomy. As has been recommended by the university and others, I feel it would be useful to acquire an anatomy textbook. At the moment, I'm not sure which textbook to get out of Moore's clincally oriented anatomy and Gray's anatomy for students. Would anyone here (older years or anyone with experience of these books) be able to advise me on this decision as this book will hopefully last me throughout medical school.

I have also heard that an anatomy atlas is extremely useful. The university has recommended Rohen's Colour Atlas of Anatomy (11th ed). Any advise on this too would be much appreciated.

Thank you for your help
Blatant Troll
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I would look at both of them in the library if you can, and see which style you prefer.

FWIW, I didn't do this in first year and just bought Gray's because, well, the original Gray's was GOAT. It served its purpose, but:
1) Revisiting anatomy a few years later, I actually prefer Moore's (imho, higher yield with less 'plastic' illustrations)
2) There are tons of anatomy textbooks on the shelves at the library, so I just grab one of these to work with while I'm in there, rather than lugging around my own stuff. Consider borrowing instead of buying, if there are enough copies (I can't be the only person on here with a pristine Kumar & Clark for a doorstop )
Larry31
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago