Finding private accommodation in time for September

Watch
madele
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I really don't know what to do and could use some advice.

I am a mature student and will be moving a long way from where I currently live to start a uni course in September.

I have a dog and therefore finding rental accommodation is going to be really hard. I have never had to rent before so I wasn't prepared for just how hard it seems to be. I can't believe the amount of 'no pet' places there are!

I've started looking around already because I know it'll be a struggle, but I don't know when I should start seriously looking. It's too early to secure a place but I don't want to miss out because other people got there first. When should I actively contact landlords?
SlowlorisIncognito
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Most student lets will let you secure a place early, but most of these will be shared houses, and it is very unlikely a landlord will not allow a dog in a shared house/flat.

I would start contacting letting agents now, and see if any of them have any suitable properties which will allow pets, and ask them to let you know if these properties become available. You may have to be prepared to pay a larger deposit and agree to have the place professionally cleaned when you leave. The rent may also be higher for these properties, as they may be slightly larger or have access to a garden.

However, many landlords will not allow pets, especially dogs/cats and it may even be a term of their insurance not to have pets in the property. You may need to consider a back up plan if you cannot find anywhere (affordable) to rent that will allow you to keep your dog- could a family member look after the dog during term time?
clarisseconnor
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago