The Student Room Group

Unsure what to do after my English lit degree?

So I'm currently in my second year of my English literature degree. I absolutely love studying the subject, however I am unsure what I want to do career wise after I graduate. I've always wanted to be a journalist and opted for an English degree rather than journalism because I thought it was the better option, especially if I changed my mind within 3 years. English definitely gives me more options. However I'm torn with what I want to do now. Part of me wants to do a postgrad in journalism or a PGCE in English, Media & Drama, all offered at my university. I have more experience in journalism so if I wanted to teach instead I would need to get more experience in that field.

I am keen on the idea of taking a year out before I start a postgrad course. I would continue to work at my part time job for 6 months and for the rest of the year go on a 6 month TEFL course in Thailand or China, teaching English as a foreign language. This seems like a good idea because not only would I be receiving more teaching experience but I would get to travel which is what I'm really passionate about at the moment. Also it is a paid internship! Has anyone got any experience of TEFL internships?

Writing has always been my passion and I've wanted to be a journalist since I was 14, however teaching seems like the more sensible route. What do you think I should do? Is it sensible taking a year out? Are TEFL courses good? Please help :smile:
Original post by me_