The Student Room Group

Blood test phobia. please help me.

I know i am being pathetic. But this is a massive fear of mine. And i have to get one on monday. I am really scared of needles, and hate anything medical.
This is my first time, so don't know what to expect. :confused:

Will it hurt? What will happen? Is it a big needle? :eek:
please be honest with your answers, because i am feeling sooo scared, and thinking about chickening out. lol
Reply 1
So many blood test threads lately. You probably don't want to hear what i have to say on them :p: I've said in some of the others so try looking back a page or two...
Reply 2
isabella
I know i am being pathetic. But this is a massive fear of mine. And i have to get one on monday. I am really scared of needles, and hate anything medical.
This is my first time, so don't know what to expect. :confused:

Will it hurt? What will happen? Is it a big needle? :eek:
please be honest with your answers, because i am feeling sooo scared, and thinking about chickening out. lol

Wow isabella, how many blood tests are you having? You asked us about this last week!?
It probably will hurt, but not that much.
They'll stick a needle in you and take out a little vile or two of blood.
Bigger than vacination needles.

I'm needle phobic too and you'd think that I could give you some helpful advice but I'm **** too. I just have a panic attack and feel like a knob. Try thinking about how having it will help you and that it will be over soon. Try to distract yourself beforehand too.
i have a needle phobia and had a blood test last month and i'm getting another on monday

dont worry. the doctor said i handled it better than most middle aged men lmao. it hurts a tiny bit but u dont get a fright when it goes in u just feel a gradual dull pain but nothing over the top :smile: its over before u know it.
Reply 5
Go to your doctor a get a dose of valium prescribed then scream the whole place down when you have the test done anyway- worked for me.