English Literature GCSE- I'm doomed!

Watch
flibber
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
My exam board is AQA, and the two texts I am studying are 'An Inspector Calls' and 'Of Mice and Men'.

Here's the problem.

I have no idea how to answer the questions...

My English teacher is good at teaching, but only when he actually does teach. Due to the attitude of certain members of the class, he spents a lot of the lesson shouting at people, accusing them of liking only maths, not caring about English. In today's lesson, he kicked out this boy for the whole lesson since the said pupil just didn't care.

So that leaves me clueless to actually answer the questions in the exam, which are worth some 30 marks (+ 4 marks for spelling, punctuation, and grammar). How am I meant to revise? Am I meant to have notes, just like for science or geography, or am I meant to just practice?
boods8897
Badges: 18
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
When I did Of Mice and Men, the main things we had to do were learn quotes, symbolisms, themes and characters.
We'd have mind maps with, for example, George in the middle, and would think about what he represents in the novel, how he changes throughout the novel, how he interacted with others and key quotes relating to him.
Themes would be things like Loneliness, Dreams, Racism... we'd have to think about which characters/scenes illustrate these themes, and also how they'd tie in with events of the time (think about white supremacy, the American Dream, lack of female rights, the Depression....)

Sorry it's vague - it's been two years since I've read the book!

Edit: practising past exam essay questions also helps as a lot of people struggle with timings.

Posted from TSR Mobile
pursuedbyabear
Badges: 9