Turn on thread page Beta

Should you pay more for a better uni for psychology? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I'm an AS level student in Northern Ireland and I want to study psychology at uni, either in Northern Ireland or in England. My top two choices are Queens here in NI or Nottingham in England. Queens is ABB, Nottingham AAB for me (AAA without psychology or other accepted subject). As I'm a NI resident if I go to a NI uni (i.e. Queens) my fees are close to 4k a year, a lot less than the 9k I would pay a year to go to Nottingham.

Before deciding on psychology I was considering law (hated work experience) so my way of thinking the past few years is if I get amazing grades I should head to one of the better universities for law, i.e. Oxford, and disregard Queens which was pretty far down on the league table and had lesser entry requirements.

Is this the same for psychology? Does it look better where I go? I know I'll get the same degree out of it but I just want to know if people look closely at the uni, because Queens would be a better choice for me as it is cheaper and I do need to save for my postgrad degree, which I have to do in England (no unis on the island of Ireland do forensic psychology postgrad). Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rachellemon)
    Hello,

I'm an AS level student in Northern Ireland and I want to study psychology at uni, either in Northern Ireland or in England. My top two choices are Queens here in NI or Nottingham in England. Queens is ABB, Nottingham AAB for me (AAA without psychology or other accepted subject). As I'm a NI resident if I go to a NI uni (i.e. Queens) my fees are close to 4k a year, a lot less than the 9k I would pay a year to go to Nottingham.