Computer turning itself off.

Watch
AlexJWise
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hey folks, I'm not very tech savvy so thought I'd ask on here before being charged silly money for taking my computer into a shop.

I've had this computer for 15 months now and have never had a problem with it. It's a lot level gaming computer, plays games like AC, WoW and Borderlands smoothly on medium/sometimes lower settings, so it's always gotten me by.

However, recently (in the past month since I started playing WoW again) it has been spontaneously turning itself off, no "shutting down" screen, nothing, just turning itself totally off instantly without warning.
It does this about once or twice per day, and I use my computer quite heavily throughout the day, always playing WoW or something similar.

God damn you breakups.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!
donutellme
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
It's over heating. Same happened to me.

Try 2 things.

First, try and keep it elevated and in a cool, ventilated area when gaming. You may need to open it up to clean the fan.

And check if the battery is showing any problems.
AlexJWise
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Ah smashing thank you so much! Just had a look as the fan and could see a fair amount of dust gathering. Will be sure to clean it thoroughly.

Thank you again
donutellme
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by AlexJWise)
Ah smashing thank you so much! Just had a look as the fan and could see a fair amount of dust gathering. Will be sure to clean it thoroughly.

Thank you again
No prob!!
wildleaves
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
U need to get the dust out of it to allow proper air flow , ill see performance boosts aswell .

Posted from TSR Mobile
username1551801
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
When you're playing a game, run HWmonitor
What are the temperatures? It's most likely an overheating issue.
Iqbal007
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago