The Student Room Group

Thinking of transferring Uni's to study Architecture

Currently i'm studying Economics and Social Policy at Birkbeck, UOL. Whilst I find a proportion of the course interesting and I done sound in my first few essays, I feel like 95% of the academic writing is mumbo jumbo and its not something I can motivate myself to do. It's like you have to decode sentence after sentence and it leaves me second doubting my understanding of most things.

Economics is a powerful tool and has good prospects after your degree but yeah. The post degree jobs seem so highly competitive and so money orientated i'm convinced i'm going to get washed away by other graduates. Most of the intense reading is from the social policy side of the course which I can avoid but still

The last few months haven't been great for me personally, i've wound up with two, two week late submissions and the way I approach my work+exams, I can't see myself finishing this degree with a 2:1 if I can't get myself to want to study. I winged A Levels and feel lucky to even be studying a degree. The 6pm lectures at Birkbeck has made a mess of my routine, I sleep in so late because i've nothing to do. I need something 'doable' to do in the day, and with the only option to study being reading academic textbooks that are so hard to decode into sense, its a struggle

I've got AS grades of E in physics, C in ICT, B in Maths and B or C in Geography because I resat them alongside my A2's this year. I messed up A2 (as a result:confused:), two u's and an e in maths, A* in ict and C in Geog.

I studied art, graphics, media and ICT at GCSE and done really well, art is something I enjoyed and took pride in...