The Student Room Group

Who else is an unemployed graduate right now? Graphic Design degree and no job.

Hi guys,

I guess i am one of the many unemployed graduates from 2014.
I graduated with a 2.2 in Graphic Design from the university of Lincoln.
Was so happy to graduate and finally be done and I managed to land myself a job in my field, turns out my experience was awful, ridiculous hours, getting paid less than min wage and been asked to do things way above my level. i ended up leaving after a couple of months of working in such an awful environment.

I quickly managed to get a retail job - only a temp, but better than nothing, now that contract is over I am now unemployed again, looking for something new. I've been applying for graphic design jobs, even though I have been put off due to my bad experience and the whole important job thing still seems scary to me i guess because of my bad experience my confidence has been effected.

I'm still looking for retail work as well, but When i was working in my retail job I felt untested and was questioning why I had worked 4 hard years to end up with a retail job..
its just a confusing time right now, it seems after finishing university we get flung out in to the world with not much help or advice. I see a lot of people from my course also in the same situation too, which is just really disheartening.

I just wondered if anyone else is feeling this strange feeling of not been quite sure what to do next or how things will end up? have you had a bad experience in employment after uni too or are you still looking?

I'm doing everything i can to get a job, it doesn't matter what job it is right now, I'm really skint. I'm just annoyed that my university painted a picture which wasn't like this...
Reply 1