i have no name
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
So for background purposes guys I have AABB at A-Levels in Accounting, Business, Economics and Maths. I studied BA Economics and Finance (Dual Honours) at Keele University and achieved a First. I have also completed a 8 week internship at KPMG where I worked in audit and corporate finance.

Now I want to work in Investment Banking, preferably in a front office position in maybe something like Mergers and Acquisitions or Trading.

I am currently in the process of applying for masters programmes to boost my employability. I have an offer from University of Nottingham for Msc Finance and Investment. I am also applying to Warwick (Msc Finance), Imperial (Msc Finance), LSE (Msc Economics and Finance) and Cambridge (Mphil Finance) and Cass (Msc Finance and Investment).

Due to the extremely high tuition fees I am more then likely to study at Nottingham or Cass as the tuition fees are a third of the other universities plus they also offer some scholarships. I have been told that I would be better off studying Economics at Nottingham rather then Finance as it is a more quants based course however the Nottingham Business School is ranked 6th in UK.

Now my main questions are:
1) Is it worth me going to Nottingham or Cass as they are both only semi-target unis and don't have the prestige of the other universities
2) If I do go to these universities, would I be better off studying Economics rather than Finance.
i have no name
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Anyone been in a similar situation? Any advice?
Icbus
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Well I’m starting an MSc Finance course in September. I’m not sure how highly rated Nottingham is for postgrad courses. Where did you see Nottingham Business School ranked 6th in the UK? The ft pre-experience Masters in Finance rankings is one source I’ve been using:

http://rankings.ft.com/exportranking...ience-2014/pdf