The Student Room Group

Will I really get into Durham as a postgrad?

Hello,

I am in my third year at Northumbria University (yes, I was a waster at college and know I should've done better so spare me any pretentious responses) and I am pretty much guaranteed to get a solid 2:1.

I was looking at Durham Uni to do a masters and saw the entry requirements were a 2:1 from a "recognised university". I messaged Durham as this seemed too straightforward for somewhere so prestigious and they responded by saying that a 2:1 from Northumbria Uni was "perfectly acceptable". I have a piece of work that I scraped a first for this year (70) so if I apply and use that piece of work, am I really in with a good chance of getting into Durham despite the fact I have completed my degree at a poly? Whilst I feel I am capable, the concomitant assumptions people make about ex-poly's unsettle me a little bit.

Thanks in advance.
Reply 1
Original post by Rosser94
Hello,

I am in my third year at Northumbria University (yes, I was a waster at college and know I should've done better so spare me any pretentious responses) and I am pretty much guaranteed to get a solid 2:1.

I was looking at Durham Uni to do a masters and saw the entry requirements were a 2:1 from a "recognised university". I messaged Durham as this seemed too straightforward for somewhere so prestigious and they responded by saying that a 2:1 from Northumbria Uni was "perfectly acceptable". I have a piece of work that I scraped a first for this year (70) so if I apply and use that piece of work, am I really in with a good chance of getting into Durham despite the fact I have completed my degree at a poly? Whilst I feel I am capable, the concomitant assumptions people make about ex-poly's unsettle me a little bit.

Thanks in advance.