Is Psychology GCSE classed as a Social Science or a Humanties GCSE?

Watch this thread
elmosandy
Badges: 22
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
YES it doesn't matter
and YES it's only a GCSE
But jw?
CharmingCat
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 years ago
I'm under the impression that Psychology is a Social Science subject, just like Sociology which I'm currently studying. A humanities subject would either be History or Geography, as those are essential if you wish to gain the English Baccalaureate.
elmosandy
Rep:
(Original post by CharmingCat)
I'm under the impression that Psychology is a Social Science subject, just like Sociology which I'm currently studying. A humanities subject would either be History or Geography, as those are essential if you wish to gain the English Baccalaureate.
I don't but I always thought it was social science but aqa said psychology is a humanity GCSE...
Elliebeanie
Badges: 3
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
It actually really does matter! The only reason I could get onto my medical based course at uni was because my psychology a level counted as a social science. If it wasn't a science I couldn't have applied!

Having said that, there is the odd uni that does not count it as a science but it is uncommon nowadays.
elmosandy
Rep:
(Original post by Elliebeanie)
It actually really does matter! The only reason I could get onto my medical based course at uni was because my psychology a level counted as a social science. If it wasn't a science I couldn't have applied!

Having said that, there is the odd uni that does not count it as a science but it is uncommon nowadays.
Ah I want to take biology, chemistry and psychology a-level next year
Elliebeanie
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by elmosandy)