Notgrad
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Canadian newbie here

I'm kind of confused here how the UK grading system works

Now I've seen many universities in the UK saying that they may accept people with a Lower second-class honours, a 2.2; thing is what is the 2.2? Wiki says it's a 3 - 3.3 GPA in the US (which means the same for Canada)

While another source said that the Canadian equivalent of a 2.2 is a C+ (2.5).....

Which one is correct?

And yes I'm a low GPA hopeful
LSD
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I don't know much about American/Canadian grading systems but if it helps at all, over here the grades are generally classed as

1st = A or 70%+
2:1 = B or 60-69%
2:2 = C or 50-59%
3rd = D or 40-49%
Fail

It would make a lot of sense for a 2:2 to correlate to a C grade as that's what it technically is here.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Just to confuse the issue, there isn't a standard overseas GPA conversion table used by all UK universities. Each uni should have a section of their website for international applicants, which clarifies their entry requirements. Beware that requirements for international applicants won't necessarily map directly to those stated for Home/UK applicants.

When in doubt, check directly with Admissions Offices and be sure to ask about specific courses. Entry requirements can differ across courses in the same department.
SiriolEleri
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I'm on exchange in Canada from the UK at the moment, and this is a general idea of the conversion my university uses:
A+/A = 1st
A-/B+/B/B- = 2:1
C+/C/C- = 2:2 (etc.)