The Student Room Group

Just done a UKCAT Test !

Hi all,

I've just done a practice UKCAT test. This is my first time to take it. I got an average of 560. I know that is not good but considering its my very first time and I guessed the second section.

So what can I do to improve? What books do you recommend? I'm also going to take the BMAT so any advise would be great

Thanks alot
Omar
The Kaplan practice book is great :smile: just practice each section and learn the tips and hints they have in the books. Timings are thé most important thing! It doesn't matter if you're amazing at the questions if you can't answer them under timed conditions.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by theboss1998
Hi all,

I've just done a practice UKCAT test. This is my first time to take it. I got an average of 560. I know that is not good but considering its my very first time and I guessed the second section.

So what can I do to improve? What books do you recommend? I'm also going to take the BMAT so any advise would be great

Thanks alot
Omar

Why are you practicing so early? You'll run out of resources. There is only so much prep you can do for ukcat.

To improve keep practising (but bear in mind there are limited resources and its not really something you can revise like the bmat). There are many books, the 600q book or ukcat for dummies. There are lots of free questions online if you google. Medify

Practice your mental maths and basic maths skills (bbc bitesize). Read newspaper articles, textbook pages, short stories/book chapters and get used to summarising the key points, the tone of the author, the point of the article.
Thanks for the advice, but which books are the most important for me? I heard that 600q book was amazing for some and the kaplan was good for others.

Original post by ForestCat
Why are you practicing so early? You'll run out of resources. There is only so much prep you can do for ukcat.