The Student Room Group

Anyone here studying CS at Southampton/Newcastle/Leeds?

Hello guys,
I am an international student and struggling to make a decision between these universities: University of Southampton, Newcastle University and University of Leeds. I have a few questions and would be really thankful if you could help me with some advice.
1. I came from a humble background and wondering if I'll be able to take a part-time job during the uni so I could make ends meet.
2. Which accommodation do you think is more suitable in terms of price ?
Reply 1
Southampton is definitely better than the other two. I really enjoyed their open day, and was my firm choice last year, offer was AAA. But got 3A* instead and decided to apply for adjustment, ended up in Bristol. Should have applied to Bristol the first time around since they have similar requirement with Southampton lol. I also applied to Leeds, and open day was nice, we got to design a Kinect-based UI using Java. Was going to make it my insurance but the city life just puts me off. Ended up insuring Manchester instead. Didn't apply or even considered Newcastle, I heard there are lot of rich kids there.

Couldn't comment with part-time but doing part-time during your study will lead you to have less friends and will probably force you to skip few classes. Also for accommodation, I know that you can put up to 3 or 5 of your prefer accommodation, but it is pretty much random for most people.
Perhaps if you have certain medical condition, that would be an exception.

Good luck!
Reply 2
Wow, thanks! I didn't know I could apply for adjustment. Now I'm thinking about going to St Andrews or something like that if that would be possible.
Original post by Cybrooke
Wow, thanks! I didn't know I could apply for adjustment. Now I'm thinking about going to St Andrews or something like that if that would be possible.

St. Andrews don't do adjustment or clearing.