The Student Room Group

Would the stress of Cambridge be too much for me?

I'm a Year 12 student being encouraged to pursue English at Cambridge by my school. The problem is that I'm very concerned about the level of pressure the Oxbridge life mounts on its students. My mum went to Oxford and she hated it; depression runs in my family and I'm very similar to her. I worry that going to Cambridge will break me, not build me, and I'll either become a recluse or crack entirely under the pressure.

I have the typical issue that I've always been among the best at English, and I really thrive under praise, but I know that in Cambridge I wouldn't be special at all. Plus, I know that in English I'd be expected to read a great deal of books, but I'm finding that I'm not the fastest of readers; I like to trawl through every page and look at everything in detail.

I got 6 A*s, 3 As and 1 B at GCSE, and I'm targeted straight As at AS Level in my subject choices of English Literature, Classical Civilisation, Philosophy & Ethics and History. My teachers are hoping for me to get straight A*s in A2. I'm really passionate about my subject, and I have the sort of debating and inquisitive nature that Cambridge seems to encourage. I've always wanted to go to Cambridge, and ideologically it looks great. I love the history of it, the traditions, etc.

My real question then is whether you think that I'd be suited to the Cambridge life. I may be overthinking it. Perhaps the challenges I would face would really help me grow as a person!

(btw: please don't judge my level of English through what I've written here. I'm just trying to get my message across concisely!)
Have you visited Cam and talked to students about this? Asking here is one thing, but meeting people and seeing it would make a big difference.