depression/anxiety - should I drop out?

Watch
pterodog
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi,

I'm a first year student at Southampton University. I got diagnosed with depression and anxiety at the beginning of my second semester and despite being put on medication I haven't improved. Before Christmas I signed on a flat for next year with a group of flatmates and friends, since then they have been pretty racist towards me and I can no longer go out into the kitchen without feeling panicked that they might try and talk to me.

I told them I wasn't going to live with them any more but then realised that I have nowhere else to go and it's getting late in the year for me to find a new place. My studies are suffering because I never have the motivation to get out of bed or concentration to do anything.

I'm seriously considering taking a break and starting next year anew as a first year again, because it's getting to the point where just not being around any more is seeming like an easier way out than dealing with everything.

Does anyone have any advice?
toodamnmuch
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Hello mate, I went through almost exactly the same situation except I was diagnosed with depression just before I started Uni, the dr's did what they thought was best, and put me on anti-depressants, the only problem was I was a lot more messed up than deppressed... I was having up to 15 panic attacks a day, when I got to uni, I only ever sat at the back of the class, with my housemates, no matter what the situation was, I could never sit down in a room with more than one other person, mate I was a bloody mess! Now.. I think you need to have a heart to heart with each one of your closer friends, it may help. Then you need to go to the Doctor, and explain everything, dont spare a single detail, there is a good chance that they will help, even if it's not the first visit that does the trick, you'll get there eventually.