The Student Room Group

which university is good for illustration?

Hello guys, I'm an international student studying in a senior school now, I strongly want to take illustration as my major in uni, but I'm really confused which uni is good for illustration though...cuz UK people's thought is completely different form people in my country, i feel you guys don't care the ranking at all. I wonder these five unis below which i pick up are good for illustration or not ?

the University of Edinburgh
Arts University Bournemouth
UAL
Falmouth University
University of Brighton

Could you give me some advice or comments about these unis?
Thank you so much !
Reply 1
Falmouth University is currently ranked number 1 for Illustration in the Uk.
University of modhill primary school

Posted from TSR Mobile
Edinburgh is kind of an instant win compared to the other universities in terms of city life, and also in terms of name recognition Edinburgh College of Art is probably equal to Falmouth which is probably the next best. The ECA also has a really cool building which is nice. One of my friends is doing illustration and he came from Falmouth where he did his foundation. I'm obviously biased studying at Edinburgh myself, but Falmouth seems the only real competition academically, and at Edinburgh it would seem you can get that plus a lot more.
Im struggling with this as well - I applied to 4 of the above universities (the exception being UAL) and received offers from all 4, including an unconditional from Brighton.

No idea what to firm now - I think they're all on equal grounds or close enough, so I think its all down to personal preference on how you like the city and the working atmosphere of the university and how the campus is set up. E.g. Brighton Illustration course is in a huge room with the Graphic Design course, whereas the Falmouth first years are separated into two groups in different rooms to maximize contact time with professors and have more individual desk space.