The Student Room Group

Boyfriends mum likes me but I dislike her?

Hey I am a third year Economics student currently on a year abroad. I have been with my boyfriend for nearly 3 years and love him to bits. We are travelling this summer and moving in together in London for our final year in September.

The problem is his family. Although they haven't been intentionally mean to me they are just not great people. His mum refuses to work and has neglected him and his older sister for the sake of her two younger kids (11 and 14) that she has from her current marriage (divorced his dad when he was a baby). She thinks she deserves some form of mum of the year award when really she's the most unorganised, useless and inconsiderate person I have met in my life. It doesn't help that I am a clean freak and her house is very dirty and untidy.

She will intentionally call him things like "my boy" in front of me, despite the fact that I'm the one he always relies on. She has no idea whats going on in his life and can barely even use a mobile phone (she's in her 40's for god sake!)

She is very unthoughtful and I just do not like the kind of person she is whatsoever. The problem I have is the thought of having to deal with her on a regular basis for the rest of my life puts me into a frenzy and gives me the worst anxiety. Does anyone have any experience with this and how did you deal with it? I really don't want to break up with him!
What would you consider breaking up with him just because you don;t like his mum? She sounds like one of those chav mums who had children young, just limit the amount of time you spend with her.
Reply 2
You're in a relationship with him, not his mother.

It's okay. Limit the time you spend with her. You're just going to have to grin and bear it.