When is the best time to start a dissertation?

Watch
Butterfly92xo
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I am a thoroughly organised person. I always get my work done 1-2 weeks before it is due. However, I am thinking of the dissertation already and I am only in my 1st year! Just wondering when did everybody start theirs? How do you know what topic to choose and what does your personal tutor for your dissertation do for you?
askew116
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Butterfly92xo)
I am a thoroughly organised person. I always get my work done 1-2 weeks before it is due. However, I am thinking of the dissertation already and I am only in my 1st year! Just wondering when did everybody start theirs? How do you know what topic to choose and what does your personal tutor for your dissertation do for you?
For my course, we had to declare our topic for the dissertation and submit a proposal at the end of the 2nd year.

I did some (not much though!) research over the summer between 2nd and 3rd year, did some more detailed research during the autumn term, and began writing over xmas hols. I'm currently almost finished the 1st draft of the whole thing.

Your dissertation supervisor will guide you throughout the process, from advice with research and suggesting books/subjects to research, through to advice on your academic writing and structuring and referencing, and then towards the end, presentation.
username457532
Badges: 17
Rep:
Report 6 years ago