icecreamcake
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi

I'm getting a new laptop and I have no price limit but I just have no idea what/which to buy? I've always been a windows user (my current laptop is a Samsung, but it's getting a bit old now), so I'm thinking about perhaps switching to a Mac? I'm not a techy person, so I don't really know anything about laptops...

Firstly what's the best laptop/Mac? I don't care about the price. I've heard that there's a new Macbook coming out in April - is it worth the wait? How much better will it be than the other Macbooks?

Secondly, I don't own any other Apple products apart from my iPod touch. All of my other tech stuff is Samsung, but I'm curious about Apple products. How is it like using a Macbook? Will I need to install Microsoft Word etc separately? I've never used a Mac before, so how different is it from using a Windows?

Lastly, my phone is a Samsung. Will I not be able to connect my phone to the Mac (if I get one)? Do I need an iPhone if I want a Mac?

All help welcome! Thank you so much
Gofre
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by strawberrysnow)
Firstly what's the best laptop/Mac? How much better will it be than the other Macbooks?
What tasks will you be using the computer to do? What features to do you want most, what screen size would you like? It's never as simple as saying "[x] computer is the best" :yep:

I've heard that there's a new Macbook coming out in April - is it worth the wait?
The new MacBook will appeal a lot to some people, a lot of others would hate having it. It's insanely thin and light and has a gorgeous display, but it only have one port for plugging everything in including the charger meaning adaptors are essential for plugging in more than one thing at a time. It's also not very powerful at all so it's only suited to people doing basic stuff.

Will I need to install Microsoft Word etc separately?