MireBN
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey everyone,

I am a prospective PhD student of Huddersfield. I have been given a 3 years PhD studentship and I am supposed to enrol the course at the end of April. My supervisor has a project and I will have a contract with the university.

The thing is, I am not from UK. I am waiting for another studentship in my own country but this can take months and I am not sure if I will get it. So, I want to take this this chance in UK. However, if months later I am awarded with the one in my country…. I might would like to come back.

All in all, what I would like to know is what happens if I decline the UK studentship after having started, because in my contract there is nothing related explained. I mean, I guess it is like in any job… if you start but you are not fine with it or whatever… you can always quick, right? But will I have to pay something for that or… ?

Thanks in advance.
bownessie
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by MireBN)
Hey everyone,

I am a prospective PhD student of Huddersfield. I have been given a 3 years PhD studentship and I am supposed to enrol the course at the end of April. My supervisor has a project and I will have a contract with the university.

The thing is, I am not from UK. I am waiting for another studentship in my own country but this can take months and I am not sure if I will get it. So, I want to take this this chance in UK. However, if months later I am awarded with the one in my country…. I might would like to come back.

All in all, what I would like to know is what happens if I decline the UK studentship after having started, because in my contract there is nothing related explained. I mean, I guess it is like in any job… if you start but you are not fine with it or whatever… you can always quick, right? But will I have to pay something for that or… ?

Thanks in advance.