Bristol University - Civil Engineering maths worries! Advice please Watch

lmford
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi everyone,

So I'm 25 and currently studying an Access to Engineering course. I've had 5 offers from unis including Cardiff, UWE, Brighton, Plymouth and Bristol, to study civil/civil and environmental engineering. As you can see a mixed bag of varying league table positions and entry requirements!

I was really surprised and pleased with the Bristol offer, due to the great reputation of the uni and I have also lived there so I know It's an awesome city. My slight worry however regarding the offer, is whether my maths skills are going to be up to scratch, as the uni requires an A* at A level. I'm currently studying as many maths modules as possible at Access level and have emailed the syllabus to Bristol, which they seemed happy with. I'm also receiving all grades at distinction so couldn't really be doing any better.

I'm just worried I'm going to be surrounded by A* receiving, naturally maths-minded students, who completely pass me by. Where as I tend to need to do a lot of self study and work to grasp a topic - although I do get there.

Anyone studying/studied the course who could provide a bit of an insight please? Is there much support in areas people are finding tricky? Don't worry I know it may not be positive!

Thanks very much
futbol
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
maths?
TicTacToe88
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Hey there, I'm actually a first year here right now! Hope I'm not answering too late, but I would definitely say go for it! I'm by no means a naturally maths minded student, and I've found it alright so far! Actually studying for the summer exams right now! It's by no means easy, but it is very doable (so far anyway!)! As long as you put the work in (which is basically what maths is all about), you should be fine! I would definitely go for it if I were you!
lmford
Rep:
?
(Original post by TicTacToe88)