An unexpected 6 months out of university Watch

Accountsey
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi, I am new to the forums so I have no idea where to put this, sorry! I am a second year student.

To give a back story, I have suffered from anxiety since I was 6 years old. During December, my panic attacks flared up and I would often cry about getting 2:1/2:2's - I got all firsts bar one on my first year. I felt like I was failing, even though I was still getting mostly firsts, it was the occasional other grade that was knocking me off. I usually start my revision for my exams in February because I am a gradual learner. During early March, however, I started to exert signs of depression - I often threw my revision on the floor after the one mistake in an account proforma, screaming "I can't do it". Other behaviours include: struggling to speak in conversation, uncontrollable crying, irrational thoughts about the future, drowsiness and feeling lethargic.

I genuinely felt like I could not take my exams this year and so I went to my parents about it. They took me to the doctors last week and I have been diagnosed with severe anxiety and moderate depression. I made the tough decision to go and see my university about it. Whilst my friends and family have been incredibly supportive so far, the exam season was an added pressure.

I have been suspended for a year on health grounds, I was not really expecting to get the opportunity to carry my grades over from this year to next year. Whilst I feel relief, I also feel helpless. I have no idea what to do with this newfound time I have acquired.

Has anyone been through a similar circumstance? Any advice?
eskimo_rising
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I've got a chronic condition and get depression with it.