username1852417
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi, I'm a current Yr 12 student of German and French. I'd like to continue German to degree level (with linguistics) and was wondering how much of the course is literature-based. I know York University's course has no compulsory literature modules. Are their other unis like this?

Also, does anyone know how literature-based Oxford modern language courses are specifically?

Thanks,

A
Examstuffxoxo
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I'm sorry that I can't help answer your question - but as I assume that you currently study German for AS level, so I'd like to ask for some advice! (If you don't mind) I am currently doing german outside of school for AS, and although I don't have to sit the exam this year (as it is an extra), I'd like to. But I'm finding it very difficult to revise. I don't have any vocabulary lists or units, so I was just going to ask, where do you find revision material? My speaking exam will be in a month so I'm very nervous about that as well!

My prime problem is vocab though...
Thanks in advance!
L
Snufkin
Badges: 21
Report 4 years ago
Most university language courses do involve at least some literature, especially for conventional joint-hons German and Linguistics programmes. If you want to avoid studying literature entirely then you may have to think outside the box and consider doing a slightly different degree, for example Southampton's German (Linguistics Studies) BA or UCL's Language and Culture BA (although the latter would involve studying a second language for the first two years). Oxford's language degrees have a reputation for being very lit heavy indeed.
username1852417
Rep:
?
Thanks, I thought that might be the case. I'll keeping looking into courses!
username1852417
Rep:
?
(Original post by Examstuffxoxo)