suffering from undiagnosed anxiety and depression -- advice? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 49 years ago
hi everybody, this is a really embarrassing post for me to make since i'm generally quite a private person but this seemed like a good place to ask for some advice.

i'm 19 years old and i have anxiety and depression. i'm currently in my second year of university studying a joint honours in psychology and philosophy and the state of my mental health has really had a devastating effect on my studies, and things have gotten so bad that i'm dropping out at the end of this term after a year of stress, horrific attendance, bad grades and all-round failure. i've struggled with anxiety and depression since starting high school, where i had really low self-esteem and attempted suicide in my second year. coming to uni was sort of supposed to open up a world of different opportunities where i would be able to develop myself and become more confident, so i thought that my mental health would improve dramatically.

instead, i spent my first year in my room living amongst flatmates who i never spoke to and avoided at all costs. anxiety stopped me from going to the shops to buy food until i was literally dizzy from hunger and depression made it difficult for me to get out of bed and go to my classes. despite this, i managed to pass my first year with relatively good grades so i suspected from there things would only get easier. second year rolled around and i was feeling pretty optimistic since i was living with a good friend from back home and a couple people i'd met through her, but by the time october came by i was already struggling with my anxiety and depression again. additionally, the content of my course didn't interest me and i had no motivation to go to class. not only that but my girlfriend of three years broke up with me unexpectedly so things just got worse.