pandaexpress
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I've got offers from both for English, and I'm having such a hard time deciding. I really do like the modules from both unis, and the league table rankings have also varied for both. King's is usually ranked way higher in international tables, but in the Guardian ones (only in the UK) Bristol is far above King's... so it's a bit confusing.

I'm also an international student, so I didn't really have the opportunity to visit the campuses during open day or anything. I've been to London before, but I've never been to Bristol. Is it a big city? Will there be something to do every day? As long as its not those "middle of nowhere" type areas I'll be good. I'm used to metropolitan cities more and I love the location of King's, but my parents are concerned that it'll be regarded as a like "third-class" uni to Imperial and UCL.

The entry standards are also (quite) higher in Bristol, if that counts as anything. I'm honestly really stuck so if anyone could help me out by giving a little input that would be much appreciated!
Gnomes&Knights
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Bristol is on par with UCL as a university and it's still ranked quite high on international league tables. You might as well firm Bristol and insure King's. Also be aware of the accommodation costs; King's is bound to have higher accommodation costs than Bristol because it's located in London.
Exceptional
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Their reputations are very similar and your parents are narrow minded and simply wrong.

Go with the place you'd be happier with. You'll get the same job at the end of it.

Posted from TSR Mobile
_Fergo
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Both are equally respected. Only difference here is the city, so choose what you like the most.

Posted from TSR Mobile
A Rose for Epona
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago