How does getting a diagnosis of depression affect your chances of getting a job Watch

Mezza362
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm almost certain I have Post Natal Depression. I've suffered with it for a year and a half and I really want help but I'm worried a GP diagnosis will see me off my course.

i am studying to become a social worker. I had to take a fitness to practice assessment where they look at your medical history and see if you are capable of training as a social
worker. I passed easily as I have never been ill in my life and have no medical history except the fact I was born!

if I were to get a diagnosis I'm worried the uni will be Informed of if I have a duty to inform them.im not sure of the rules but I also don't knownif this could make me be seen as unfit for practice.

do you have to disclose a depression diagnosis when applying for jobs?

I have been coping so don't need to go the GP but I do feel down and am having sad thoughts
doodle_333
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
they may want you to speak to occupational health as social work can be an emotionally draining job so they will want to check you are putting strategies in place to cope with that... however they wont discriminate purely on the basis of depression, only if the depression aaffects your ability to work
Laomedeia
Badges: 21
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by doodle_333)
they may want you to speak to occupational health as social work can be an emotionally draining job so they will want to check you are putting strategies in place to cope with that... however they wont discriminate purely on the basis of depression, only if the depression affects your ability to work
As what possibly happened in that airplane tragedy.
I would imagine emotional issues would have an affect on your ability to help others with emotional issues. So yes, I do believe it would affect your employment.
Mezza362
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago