Post-doc opportunities - how common? Watch

aimlou83
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Just wondering really.....

I'm a mature student hoping to return to academia to do my MA and then hopefully progress (obviously time will tell). I'm just wondering how to find out about post-doctoral or associate-ships within university departments. I'm really struggling to find ANY positions advertised so are they normally an internal type of affair or am I missing a trick?

Thanks.

ETA: I'll be studying history and heritage. I don't know whether it's different for arts/humanities subjects but though that might be of import.
TIA
BnThereDnThat
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by aimlou83)

I'm a mature student hoping to return to academia to do my MA and then hopefully progress (obviously time will tell). I'm just wondering how to find out about post-doctoral or associate-ships within university departments. I'm really struggling to find ANY positions advertised so are they normally an internal type of affair or am I missing a trick?

Thanks.

ETA: I'll be studying history and heritage. I don't know whether it's different for arts/humanities subjects but though that might be of import.
TIA
There are so many variables and hence no-one can give you a standardised answer: it depends on your field, university, funding that year, faculty, research concentration in the department, etc. For social sciences like history I would say postgrad opportunities are more scarce these days. You're right in that a lot of this stuff is internal and depends on your connection to your supervisor/faculty. That would be your best bet to secure a postdoc fellowship; going for standard application is very difficult due to the competition.
QHF
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago

Thanks.

TIA