PerennialQuest
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
First English Language (0500) Paper 21. (Paper 2, Reading Passages (Extended))

May/June 2010

Hi all . I'm studying for my IGCSEs on my own (without any tutors) and have my exams coming up in 2 months time. I therefore have been practicing past papers on my own. I wanted an outsiders opinion to how well I did on this past paper. It was from Paper 21. Paper 2, Reading Passages (Extended) May/June 2010.

Here's the mark scheme for it: http://papers.xtremepapers.com/CIE/C..._s10_ms_21.pdf

Any help, advice, corrections, etc, will be greatly appreciated! I would really like to know how much out of 50 I would have received.

Here's my answers:

Question 1:

Interviewer: Some people say you are an eccentric man whose behaviour is odd at times. Are they right?

Signor: Well, I guess I don't know any other conductor who always and must eat chicken curry before a concert. I do swear that it releases endorphins. I guess I'm also a bit superstitious — in regards to taxis that is. I must always travel to the concert in one. Things shall go wrong if I don't! Another thing is fixing my tie with a minute to spare before the big performance.

Interviewer: That's very interesting! So, can you explain the unexpected happenings that took place at the beginning of your Beethoven concert?

Signor: Ah, yes, the concert started later than planned due to a traffic jam. I was very stoical while in the taxi, however. Although, I was extremely embarrassed by the time I arrived on stage. I'm just pleased that I didn't fall over. Mind you, I don't what is worse — falling over or the chief violinist's lack of due admiration for me.

Interviewer: Do you think that the time has come for you to retire from conducting?