simplestand
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all,

I have been considering applying for either midwifery or nursing for the 2016 intake but I am unsure which I want to do. I have been offered a voluntary Health Care Assistant Internship. The position is 2 days a week for 6 months. The job description says the role is aimed at people with no health care experience who want to become Nurses and states that people who do well in the role will get offered a place for Nursing in Feb 2016. I want to know if universities will accept this experience for Midwifery or will this look bad on my application if I decide that I would rather do Midwifery.

I have no other health care experience and worry that I will struggle to find such good experience in a hospital setting.

Thanks
deviant182
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Any experience is better than no experience.
And as you've said you don't know if you're going to apply for nursing or midwifery then maybe the position will help that. As when you apply they like you to know why and what it is you're applying for. Nursing and midwifery are very different.
So volunteer and see if you can find anywhere else that you can get midwifery experience. If not don't worry about it! Universities like to see what it is you're planning on doing and if you're suited.

Posted from TSR Mobile
LouieSax
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Hey!
That experience is definitely worth taking no matter what you decide to do.
I am a HCA (Highly recommend it) and I want to go into Occupational Therapy!
However, is you DO decide to go into midwifery in the end, you may want to try and get some midwifery experience, remember midwifery is about both the parents AND the babies so get some experience of both.
Volunteer at some parent baby classes
Apply for work experience at major hospitals to shadow midwives
Volunteer in a creche for an hour a week.
Anything which will improve your application!