Potential Vitamin B12 deficiency Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello

Just to brief you as it would be impossible to include everything - I'm a young male and have been experiencing severe, constant tiredness (and weakness, getting breathless easily etc) for years. I'm positive it's not depression, I have the desire to do stuff but doing it makes me feel very tired and weak to the point where it becomes difficult to talk. I've had a few blood tests but they always test for the same things and they won't do anything further, this is the first B12 test I've had.

My result is 184 ng/L with the lab range being 130-900.

I know this is within their normal range and I'm no expert but it does seem low. Everything I've been reading suggests that anything below 200-400 can mean you are deficient and with a result of 184 there is a lot of room for improvement, so perhaps this could be why I've been tired all this time. I'm not a vegan or anything either so it shouldn't be because of my diet.

So, can anyone here who has some experience with B12 deficiencies offer some (any) advice before I go back to the doctor? Perhaps you had a similar experience to me where the result was just within the normal range but still showed symptoms until you had treatment etc, I don't know.

I'm just fed up of feeling ill and may finally have an answer so need to arm myself with information haha.
Etomidate
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
A result of 184ng/L is normal. You're not deficient.

Assuming you're not anaemic, you have no bowel problems and you're neurologically intact, it doesn't warrant any further action. The temptation here is to pathologise normal blood results because they're in the low end of normal. The only thing that may be worth doing is to repeat it again in a couple of months if you're concerned.