The Student Room Group

Physics Bath vs Birmingham

So I'm hoping to study physics at uni but I can't decide between Bath or Birmingham, both offers are A*AA.

Any thoughts would be appreciated!
Reply 1
I would say Bath, I'm applying there myself, Physics with Astrophysics. When you look at the tables, Bath is improving each year, whereas Birmingham... Besides, Bath has also a very good placement programme.
I'm not a student there, but I myself decided to pick Bath, looking at lots of different things (like campus, city etc :wink: )
Reply 2
I'm currently studying Theoretical Physics at Birmingham. Birmingham outranks Bath for physics in the league tables (if you find league tables convincing). But realistically it depends on personal preference, Bath and Birmingham are pretty different places; Birmingham is the second largest city in the UK whereas Bath is a lot quieter... both have their advantages and disadvantages. I think that judging from pure statistics then Birmingham would be a better option but it's pretty much negligible, my suggestion would to be to visit both and see which one you prefer.
I agree that the statistics are basically insignificant as they're both prestigious, but in essence that is my problem as I cant seem to differentiate between them enough to make a decision. I have visited both of them and this is still my view as I like both, it would be great to hear some advantages and disadvantages from a current student that you don't see on an open day.
Cheers
Reply 4
Original post by jonathanparkes
I agree that the statistics are basically insignificant as they're both prestigious, but in essence that is my problem as I cant seem to differentiate between them enough to make a decision. I have visited both of them and this is still my view as I like both, it would be great to hear some advantages and disadvantages from a current student that you don't see on an open day.
Cheers