isabadi
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi, I'm a EU student and i'm currently still in high school in Italy, but i'm already looking into UK universities and student loans. And I'd really like to go abroad for my entire next year of high school with an exchange program. After that I'd still have one more year back at home (here in Italy we have FIVE years of high school, can you believe that).

The thing is, would the exchange program stop me from applying as a EU home student because of the "ordinarily resident for the three years before the first day of the course" rule?

I'm really lost and I've looked everywhere but I can't find anyone who's been in the same position as me, some advice would clear my mind a lot. Thanks!
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
If you're only going abroad for one year of school, and you can prove that you've maintained family ties and a permanent residence in Italy while you're abroad, you should be fine. If it's a formal exchange programme, there should be plenty of paperwork to prove that. The fact that you'll have another year back at school in Italy, should also help.
gioprete79
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Hello, I am a student applying for funding for the 2015/2016 academic year. I am a new student just accepted at Leeds uni. I fulfill all the requirements for EU status, but there is one implication that you need to help me a bit.

So my story is:
I am a EU National, born and lived in a EU country all my life, went to school there, worked, have a bank account and my family lives there as well. I hold dual citizenship, Greek and Canadian which I got from my grandparents who lived in Canada for a while.