The Student Room Group

I flopped the IELTS again!!

Hello, I am a prospective student on a gap year who holds a conditional offer to study Biotechnology BSc (J700) at Imperial and my only requirement is to pass a relevant English Language qualification. I sat the IELTS and have attained these results;

Listening: 8.0
Reading: 6.5
Writing: 6.0
Speaking: 8.5
Overall: 7.5

I am not sure whether Imperial want the standard college requirements or the higher college requirements for 2015 entry so I wanted to ask which out of the 2 requirements does Imperial want for my course?
http://www.imperial.ac.uk/study/pg/apply/requirements/english/
Will the department of Life Sciences accept me with these results? If the requirements are the same for 2016 entry then I missed the requirements by 0.5 for Writing!!!! Do you think they can let me off that 0.5? Imperial are closed for Easter so I couldn't contact them. I emailed them but I don't think they will reply until 8th April so I thought I'd get some opinions here.
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Unfortunately, it's the higher (it's stated on their entry requirements). Universities are usually very strict with regards to English requirements, but nothing is impossible.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by *Stefan*
Unfortunately, it's the higher (it's stated on their entry requirements).

Posted from TSR Mobile

I don't get that. It's standard for their other courses (which are probably more intense) but higher for Life Sciences. Why is that? It's higher for postgraduate as well but I can understand that.
Reply 3
Original post by Raymat
I don't get that. It's standard for their other courses (which are probably more intense) but higher for Life Sciences. Why is that? It's higher for postgraduate as well but I can understand that.

My guess would be that it's more theoretic that their other courses, so English is more important here than in, say, mathematics.
Original post by *Stefan*