The Student Room Group

22 and feeling directionless in life.

I am 22 and I am currently an apprentice electrician. I have been in this job for almost 7 months. These last few months for me have been the hardest, every morning I wake up feeling incredibly anxious for what awaits me in the day ahead. I have persevered this long despite how I feel.

I think it stems from my current work environment. I often get sworn at when I struggle to understand how to carry out a particular task. The people that are supposed to be training me have zero patience for me and like to point out how stupid I am and yell at me for it. I would rather not go into fine detail on this, but I'm hoping someone who reads this can relate to a hostile workplace! As a result, I have grown to hate my job and I also think very little of myself as well and struggle to have a shred of self-confidence. I have spoken to management about this but very little has been done.

I have tried to make friends with the people I work with -- but I haven't been very successful and I don't have the best people skills.

Apart from this I have tried to communicate how I feel to friends and family; they understand to an extent but they would rather see me stay in my job.

I just feel so out of place in the world right now. I feel like I am incapable of becoming good at any job. I have never felt depressed before in my life and it honestly scares me to feel like this. I feel so down at the moment and overwhelmed by everything that is going on.

I often find myself researching new career paths and I am toying with the possibility of going to university (Accounting or Nursing). I just don't know what I should do and feel very directionless in life.

Sorry for such a long winded post. I just don't know what to do.
Original post by Anonymous