Why Is The General Election So Close?

Watch
TheCasual MK2
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I'm fairly new to politics. I've always had a passing interest, but Scottish Referendum really sparked my interest.

Is it because both of the two major parties have poor leaders?

The last four years of New Labour where a disastrous. The falling out of Blair and Brown, the financial crash and the fallout of the Iraq war. But still Cameron couldn't win a majority.

Ed Milliband has had four years to build a strong stable shadow cabinet, but still people don't seem convinced by him or his policies.

Or is because the Scottish Referendum has shook up Scottish Politics and obviously causing major losses to Labour?

Obliviously there's also been a raise of UKIP and the demise of the Lib Dem's because of going against there principles to form a coalition with the Tories.

Or has the internet and social media allowed the the smaller parties to gain publicity that they couldn't afford in the past?

I've also notice it seems to be hard to come back and regain power after one term.

Just interested in what more knowledgeable people think?
Arkasia
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
It always has been close. Generally Labour and the Tories have a core of around 30% of firm supporters, and the rest either vote for smaller parties, or switch their votes based on whichever seems the best at that time. People are also very short-sighted, so after 4 years of one party, the public tends to sway in the other direction, as they remember all the bad stuff the current government did, and think the next one will be better (it almost invariably isn't).
username878267
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Tories are seen as heartless and labour as incompetent.
in 97, Blair made Labour seem competent, in 2010 Cameron made tories seem nice with the whole 'hug a hoody compassionate conservatism'.