The Student Room Group

Is it necessary to be good at maths to study philosophy?

I have applied for a degree whereby philosophy is likely to be a major component, and I am interested in doing a PhD in a philosophical area as well. However, I'm totally useless at maths.

I've noticed that historically, many philosophers were also mathematicians, and I've seen multiple people recommend maths/further maths as good A Levels to take in preparation for a philosophy degree.

Is it necessary to be a good mathematician in order to be a good philosopher?

Scroll to see replies

Not at all.
Reply 2
Original post by RamocitoMorales
Not at all.

Care to expand? Do you study philosophy?
I never thought you had to be good at anything really to study philosophy - I had a friend who smoked **** tons of weed and ended up doing philosophy at Cambridge haha. Maybe i'm just ignorant as hell:frown:?
Original post by la95
Care to expand? Do you study philosophy?

I'm a mathematics student who took modules in undergraduate philosophy. There are certain fields of philosophy which are 'mathematical' in nature, such as logic, but generally it's just essay writing.
No. I got a C in maths and study Philosophy at a Russell Group University. Most of the Logic and mathematical areas of philosophy are not compulsory. Worst case scenario you might have to take one compulsory Logic module in your first year, which will be very basic and you should still be able pass it with some work.
(edited 9 years ago)
I'm a mathematics student who took modules in undergraduate philosophy. There are certain fields of philosophy which are 'mathematical' in nature, such as logic, but generally it's just essay writing.

Err. what? Logic is a mathematical discipline. The only reason it is tied to philosophy is become its founder was a philosopher (when philosophy was also synonymous with science) and because it allows you to formalise some thoughts. -_-
Original post by Juichiro