Going through a break-up

Watch
codle
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Well, it's been a long time since I last posted on TSR... But I guess I need somewhere to turn to.

This is going to be quite long (sorry!) but I really feel the need to get it out there.

I'm a third year student and until two and a half weeks ago I was engaged to the person I thought I would grow old with. We got engaged at 18 - we knew it was quite young but it felt right to us. We first met in secondary school and started dating aged 13. We had an on-off phase for a while but got together properly aged 16.

We often spent time thinking about our wedding and our future - we were both so excited by the idea of having a family and that kind of thing. We were each others' support in times of stress and we always said we could get through anything.

This year, however, has been different. Being in the last year of my degree, I was starting to feel the pressure, but unlike normal, my fiancΓ© wasn't being totally supportive. He had extra curricular commitments as well as university and I tried to be supportive, but it became clear that I was putting all the work into the relationship. We discussed this and we agreed to make things work. We were looking forward to having more time together.

All of a sudden, however, he told me he doesn't love me any more and that he can no longer be in a relationship. Whilst we were having problems, I figured he would care enough to work things out. But he's made it clear that he feels he needs a change in his life and he no longer feels ready to commit to something like an engagement.