Lord of the flies help?? Watch

lisagroom14
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm studying Lord of the Flies for English Literature... i'm am currently a bit stuck on a question. The question is 'What do you think is the importance of the fire in Lord of the Flies? How does Golding present different ideas about the fire in the novel?' taken from the Jan 2013 paper. I would really appreciate any help and quotes that i could use that are explained for this question!
somethingbeautiful
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by lisagroom14)
I'm studying Lord of the Flies for English Literature... i'm am currently a bit stuck on a question. The question is 'What do you think is the importance of the fire in Lord of the Flies? How does Golding present different ideas about the fire in the novel?' taken from the Jan 2013 paper. I would really appreciate any help and quotes that i could use that are explained for this question!
This might be helpful:

Spoiler:
Show
The Signal Fire

The signal fire burns on the mountain, and later on the beach, to attract the notice of passing ships that might be able to rescue the boys. As a result, the signal fire becomes a barometer of the boys’ connection to civilization. In the early parts of the novel, the fact that the boys maintain the fire is a sign that they want to be rescued and return to society. When the fire burns low or goes out, we realize that the boys have lost sight of their desire to be rescued and have accepted their savage lives on the island. The signal fire thus functions as a kind of measurement of the strength of the civilized instinct remaining on the island. Ironically, at the end of the novel, a fire finally summons a ship to the island, but not the signal fire. Instead, it is the fire of savagery—the forest fire Jack’s gang starts as part of his quest to hunt and kill Ralph.

Source: http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/flies/themes.html
lisagroom14
Badges: 0
Rep:
?