The Student Room Group

I've never pulled a pint in my life...

... but how hard can it be??

Currently accepted a place at uni though because im a post grad I wont be able to receive a tuition fee loan (which I knew about and is manageable anyway) though to make things more awkward cost of living at the university is quite high.

Theres guaranteed jobs going in student heavy areas right? Just wondered if and how anyone else had gotten on finding bar work for a bit extra cash. Have done 5 years part time in retail but is an environment I am not keen on going back to at all.

I did consider pole dancing but I don't think the demand for male pole dancers who cant pole dance are much in demand.

Just looking at options for a bit of extra cash - have saved a lot but want to avoid being over reliant on the bank of mum and dad.
Original post by topgear1987
... but how hard can it be??

Currently accepted a place at uni though because im a post grad I wont be able to receive a tuition fee loan (which I knew about and is manageable anyway) though to make things more awkward cost of living at the university is quite high.

Theres guaranteed jobs going in student heavy areas right? Just wondered if and how anyone else had gotten on finding bar work for a bit extra cash. Have done 5 years part time in retail but is an environment I am not keen on going back to at all.

I did consider pole dancing but I don't think the demand for male pole dancers who cant pole dance are much in demand.

Just looking at options for a bit of extra cash - have saved a lot but want to avoid being over reliant on the bank of mum and dad.

If the typical bar staff in Union bars are anything to go by, being able to pull a pint is not a key requirement of the job...
Reply 2
Pulling a pint won't be a problem, when I first started bar work I was pulling them so bad until I watched the others, after a day I was doing them good