The Student Room Group

What do i do?

* I have 3 options atm .
1- Take a gap year to improve my A level grades ( B in biology - B in maths , june decides my final score tho ) and to broaden my extra curricular activities

2-Have a foundation year in a very famous / competitive university with a nice ranking? ( Charles university in Prague , ranking of 97 or 228 ) . However , doing the foundation year will NOT garuntee a place for me but will increase my chance.

3-Go to egypt and study Dentistry in a university that's not really competitive ( ranking of 13k lol ) .

Now for the most important question : Will the foundation year be of use Even though i have completed my A level studies?,

Your oppinion might help .

Extra stuff : Im an A level student ( gonna finish my School this june ) and I'm Aiming for Medicine .
Moreover , the reason im not directly into charles university is because i didnt do THAT well in their entrance exam . i can go to the foundation year )
im an international student btw c:

Thank you.
(edited 8 years ago)
What's the rush? Resit and try your best to get AAA. Failing that, yes you could consider Prague, but it'd be cheaper to study in the UK for an undergraduate degree in something else, and then consider graduate entry.

Bear in mind that the Foundation Programme for qualified doctors is already oversubscribed and I would not be surprised if in 5 years time the situation for foreign graduates was very different. If you wish to practice in the UK, it's probably best to train here too.
Well the thing is , after im done with the foundation course , they are going to do an exam . According to a guy i contacted from an education center , he said "its better to do the foundation course in the university you want to go to. because the same professors are going to teach you once you hopefully get to enter the university . Moreover , it does give you a better chance as compared to going anywhere in the world " .