helenstockton
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I want to do veterinary medicine but I am looking at options if I don't get the grades. If I did a science based degree then wanted to do vet med after that as a post graduate, is it possible?
mollyvet
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by helenstockton)
I want to do veterinary medicine but I am looking at options if I don't get the grades. If I did a science based degree then wanted to do vet med after that as a post graduate, is it possible?
It is absolutely possible! Obviously, it depends what kind of Science you go for (eg. something like Biochemistry would be more relevant than Geology!) but a science degree of any sort is a well-used pathway into veterinary. Obviously, there are other factors you should consider regarding a post-grad degree (eg. no student loan available for post-grads/general costs associated with a further 4-5 years of uni/increased tution costs in Scotland) but it's a viable option if managed correctly.
Tarnia
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Graduate entry is still competitive, especially at those schools that don't increase their fees for graduate entry (ie 9,000GBP/year vs. 28,000+GBP/year at the most expensive schools). However I did it, I would do it again, and I agree with the above poster IF you do your research and are fully aware of "what you are getting into" (or as aware as you ever can be) it is totally a viable option. The biggest stumbling block for most people is the lack of government funding for a second degree = high fees. Combined with that the difficulty in procuring private funding., and also the ***realistic-do your research*** expected earnings on graduation.

As mentioned above, be sure to ensure your first degree would be considered acceptable for entry into whatever graduate vet med courses you were considering.
sydneybridge
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago