The Student Room Group

Pregnant from a one night stand and feel preasured to have an abortion

Hello

I am 19 and recently found out I am 6 and a half weeks pregnant from a one night stand. I did not set out to have a one night stand but I am not naive enough to think that this man wants more. I know sex was all it was and that was fine and he has said this to me. He is 28 and already has a 5 year old daughter.

I am a student at university and have just finished my first year, but I have moved back home with my parent's and will be taking my second year at the uni in my home town. I understand being a student and a mother will be hard both financially and emotionally but I have spoken to my mum, although disappointed she has said she will support me in what ever I do. Financially they are both stable (both are solicitors) and emotionally I know they will do their best to help me however they can. The father of the child is a professional rugby player although I can't have the expectation that he will help out because I doubt that very much.

I told the man I was pregnant over text because we live 3 hours away (as I moved home from uni he lives in London which is where I went to uni) he was calm about it and told me it would all be okay and all I needed to do was go to the doctors and get two pills and it would be over with. I kept changing the subject as I didn't like the fact he didn't ask me what I wanted to do and he then asked me if I was okay to get the abortion. I explained that I didn't know how I felt.