The Student Room Group

Do I take five a-levels inc. further maths or four?

Hi, I'm a student currently in year 11 and am about to sit gcses. Next year I'm moving school to a sixth form where I can take 4 a-legels inc. Further maths or 5. If I took five I would take one only to AS. Which option should I do? I'm currently down to do five:
Maths
Further maths
Physics
Chemistry
RS (the subject I'd drop)
It's really a question of work load compared to the gain of doing 5.
Thanks for any help

Scroll to see replies

I did 4, including maths and further and I must say the workload is immense. It's manageable but only eith investing a lot of free time into your subjects. I wouldn't recommend doing 5 as it will either drag all of them down or you'll neglect one, unless you put like 3-4 hours a day on these subjects.
Never ever for any reason do 5, never ever
Reply 3
My current school forces you to do five(if you want to do f.maths) so it can't be too hard. The school I'm going to gives an option
Don't underestimate how difficult a levels are man. I was a natural at maths and cruised gcse eith no work and got an A* nut ended up getting an E at AS further
Reply 5
I'm struggling with four and I pissed through GCSEs. Don't underestimate A-Levels

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 6
Not a boast but I'm predicted 10 A*s gcse an A and already have A* in maths. I'm also predicted an A in AS environmental studies and A in Fsmq
Reply 7
Original post by Ian Roberts
Not a boast but I'm predicted 10 A*s gcse an A and already have A* in maths. I'm also predicted an A in AS environmental studies and A in Fsmq

How much extra work do you do?

Posted from TSR Mobile
You sound like a potential oxbridge candidate then. if so, don't waste your time with a 5th AS. You'll need 92% UMS on each exam and another subject will hinder you.
Reply 9