The Student Room Group

Demotivated student asks your opinion about the transfer situation. From US to UK.

Hello everybody,

Currently I am studying Biology at Quinnipiac University. I have decided to transfer to a UK University since I got A LOT of discrimination in terms of getting a job or an internship in the US. Not only that I have never really wanted to go to study in the US as much in the UK. I can no longer sustain myself economically at least for the everyday living. I hold an EU passport. Long story short, I have never met the IB criteria posted by the universities back in High School to be accepted to their programs of my interest. Now I am sophomore student and my last semester in the university is approaching very soon. With a GPA 3.62 (49 credit hours) I applied to transfer to the following universities:

University of Aberdeen
University of Kent
University of Bangor
University of Dundee
University of Glasgow

So far I got a rejection from the University of Glasgow. Though I got a conditional offer from the University of Kent stating this:

"This offer is subject to you obtaining Complete Spring Semester at Quinnipiac University and achieve an overall cumulative GPA of 3.3 for the four semesters (Fall 2013 to Spring 2015)."

I really want to ask the people with similar experience. Since then I am living a very stressful experience because I got rejected from all my 5 UK choices in the High School Days. Conditional acceptance, rejections everywhere. Today it feels this story repeats itself and I don't really want to live it again for the second time. In case I got 3.2 GPA for instance and/or either fail one of my courses in the semester how screwed am I? This year I got the most useless classes without learning any Biology-related knowledge (another reason that I am leaving USA), including American History, University Seminars, Psychology etc...